• Home
  • Sikhism, the youngest of the world religions, is barely five hundred years old. Its founder, Guru Nanak, was born in 1469. Guru Nanak spread a simple message of "Ek OnKar" -  We are all One, created by the One Creator of all Creation. This was at a time when India was being torn apart by castes, sectarianism, religious factions, and fanaticism. He aligned with no religion, and respected all religions. He expressed the reality that there is one God and many paths, and the Name of God is Truth, "Sat Nam".

    Guru Nanak's followers began to be called Sikhs (learners). He taught them to bow only before God, and to link themselves to the Guru, the Light of Truth, who lives always in direct consciousness of God, experiencing no separation. Through words and example, the Guru demonstrates to followers how to experience God within themselves, bringing them from darkness into light. Guru Nanak was a humble bearer of this Light of Truth. He inspired the seekers by singing divine songs which touched the hearts of the most callous listeners. These songs were recorded, and formed the beginning of the Sikhs sacred writings, which later became the "Sri Guru Granth Sahib". Sri Guru Granth Sahib is unique in the world of religious scriptures because not only is it accorded the status of being the spiritual head of the Sikh religion, but besides the poetry of the Gurus, it also contains the writings of saints of other faiths whose thoughts were consistent with those of the Sikh Gurus.

    The 10 Sikh Gurus
    The foundation of Sikhism was laid down by Guru Nanak. Guru Nanak infused his own consciousness into a disciple, who then became Guru, subsequently passing the light on to the next, and so on. The word "Guru" is derived from the root words "Gu", which means darkness or ignorance, and "Ru", which means light or knowledge The Guru is the experience of Truth (God).
    Each one of the ten Gurus represents a divine attribute:
    Guru Nanak - Humility
    Guru Angad - Obedience
    Guru Amar Das — Equality
    Guru Ram Das - Service
    Guru Arjan - Self-Sacrifice
    Guru Hargobind - Justice
    Guru Har Rai - Mercy
    Guru Harkrishan - Purity
    Guru Tegh Bahadur - Tranquility
    Guru Gobind Singh - Royal Courage

    Click on the image to know in detail about the Gurus

    Source -

    Guru Nanak taught this way of life:

    • Naam Japa - To get up each day before sunrise, to clean the body, meditate on God’s Name and recite the Guru’s hymns to clean the mind. Throughout the day, continuously remember God’s Name with every breath.
    • Dharam di Kirat Karni - To work and earn by the sweat of the brow, to live a family way of life, and practice truthfulness and honesty in all dealings. 
    • Vand Ke Chakna - To share the fruits of one’s labor with others before considering oneself. Thus, to live as an inspiration and a support to the entire community.

    The 5 K's

    Guru Gobind Singh gave 5 distinctive external form to remind Sikhs of their commitment, to help maintain an elevated state of consciousness and practice unity in thought, word and deed.

    • Kesh - uncut hair and beard, as given by God, to sustain him or her in higher consciousness; and a turban, the crown of spirituality.
    • Kangha - a wooden comb to properly groom the hair as a symbol of cleanliness. 
    • Katchera - specially made cotton underwear as a reminder of the commitment to purity. 
    • Kara - a steel circle, worn on the wrist, signifying bondage to Truth and freedom from every other entanglement. 
    • Kirpan - the sword, with which the Khalsa is committed to righteously defend the fine line of the Truth. 

    Sikhism preaches a message of devotion and remembrance of God at all times, truthful living, equality of mankind, social justice and denounces superstitions and blind rituals. Sikhism is open to all through the teachings of its 10 Gurus enshrined in the Sikh Holy Book and Living Guru, Sri Guru Granth Sahib.

    Sikhism for Children - Children can check this link to know about Sikhism                                                                                                                             


    Source & References:                                                                                                                                   


    "Samastha Lokah Sukhino Bhavathu"